Angebote zu "Yellow" (4 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Gimme the Money , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 549min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Hail Gin's taxi and take a seat for the ride of your life! When we first meet Jindriska/Gin, she is a New York cabbie, a struggling Czech immigrant alternately buoyed-up or battered by life in the guts of the great city. Though married to Talibe, a legal immigrant from West Africa, she lives with Gloria, a Cuban lesbian artist and tiny Josito, the baby of Gloria's jailed friend. Through Alex, the Russian owner of the garage on 47th Street, Gin rents a succession of yellow taxis of dubious reliability and origin. Thus she meets a collection of characters: hookers, Lotharios, fraudsters, friends, lovers, hangers-on, and an architect who once dreamed of changing the skyline of Manhattan. "The gravity of big cities captures us," writes Pekarkova, "and when people let themselves be lured... their inevitable butt-falls can be made gentler only by their love for the City; for the unique and thorny planet." Yet despite Gin's philosophical musings, it's all about the money: Everybody needs it. Gin drives at all hours through the canyons of skyscrapers, along night streets that glisten with slithering rainbows of motor oil and rainwater, seeking fares, trying to save enough cash to pay the rent and to survive. Pekarkova's eye for telling detail, her ironic humor, and her deft ear for dialogue helps to create a powerful tale with plenty of laughs, one that is rich in incident and comes in time to a shattering climax. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Andi Hicks. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/023755/bk_acx0_023755_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 06.04.2020
Zum Angebot
Henry and the Guardians of the Lost
6,00 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A spell-binding new children's book from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Inkheart, and the Charlie Bone series. The yellow letter arrived on a Saturday, otherwise Henry would have been at school. The envelope was such a bright, sunny colour, no one would have believed that it contained a bombshell. Less than 10 minutes after the arrival of the mysterious letter, Henry is on the run with his Auntie Pearl, possibly never to return home. Henry has a secret. He is twelve, but he hasn't aged a day since the moment he was thrust a hundred years into the future. Now his secret has put him in danger. His only hope is the protection of the Guardians of the Lost.  A wonderfully immersive fantasy book for children aged 9 years and up. 'A fast moving, dialogue-driven romp with plenty of cliff-hangers for those first hooked into reading by Harry Potter' - The Bookseller on Midnight for Charlie Bone  Another gripping magical adventure from the Charlie Bone universe. Have you collected all of the Charlie Bone stories? Midnight for Charlie Bone Charlie Bone and the Time Twister  Charlie Bone and the Blue Boa  Charlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors  Charlie Bone and the Hidden King  Charlie Bone and the Wilderness Wolf  Charlie Bone and the Shadow of Badlock  Charlie Bone and the Red Knight  Also look out for The Snow Spider trilogy. 'Dark, funny, crackling with magic' - author Artemis Cooper on Midnight for Charlie Bone 'A fast moving, dialogue driven romp with plenty of cliff-hangers for those first hooked into reading by Harry Potter' - Bookseller on Midnight for Charlie Bone Jenny Nimmo is the acclaimed author of the Charlie Bone books for children. She has won several significant awards for her children's books, including the Nestle Smarties Book Prize and the Tir na n-Og Welsh Arts Council award for The Snow Spider. She lives in Wales with her husband, David.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 06.04.2020
Zum Angebot
Henry and the Guardians of the Lost
5,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A spell-binding new children's book from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Inkheart, and the Charlie Bone series. The yellow letter arrived on a Saturday, otherwise Henry would have been at school. The envelope was such a bright, sunny colour, no one would have believed that it contained a bombshell. Less than 10 minutes after the arrival of the mysterious letter, Henry is on the run with his Auntie Pearl, possibly never to return home. Henry has a secret. He is twelve, but he hasn't aged a day since the moment he was thrust a hundred years into the future. Now his secret has put him in danger. His only hope is the protection of the Guardians of the Lost.  A wonderfully immersive fantasy book for children aged 9 years and up. 'A fast moving, dialogue-driven romp with plenty of cliff-hangers for those first hooked into reading by Harry Potter' - The Bookseller on Midnight for Charlie Bone  Another gripping magical adventure from the Charlie Bone universe. Have you collected all of the Charlie Bone stories? Midnight for Charlie Bone Charlie Bone and the Time Twister  Charlie Bone and the Blue Boa  Charlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors  Charlie Bone and the Hidden King  Charlie Bone and the Wilderness Wolf  Charlie Bone and the Shadow of Badlock  Charlie Bone and the Red Knight  Also look out for The Snow Spider trilogy. 'Dark, funny, crackling with magic' - author Artemis Cooper on Midnight for Charlie Bone 'A fast moving, dialogue driven romp with plenty of cliff-hangers for those first hooked into reading by Harry Potter' - Bookseller on Midnight for Charlie Bone Jenny Nimmo is the acclaimed author of the Charlie Bone books for children. She has won several significant awards for her children's books, including the Nestle Smarties Book Prize and the Tir na n-Og Welsh Arts Council award for The Snow Spider. She lives in Wales with her husband, David.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 06.04.2020
Zum Angebot

Ähnliche Suchbegriffe